Barista Training Courses
Speciality Coffee Shop, Ice Cream Bar, Crêperie & Coffee Training Centre

SCA Coffee Diploma

Authorised SCA Trainer   Caffe & Co. SCAE / SCAA Member Liverpool

SCA Coffee Diploma

The Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA) and the Specialty Coffee Association of Europe (SCAE) merged in late 2016 to form what is now the Specialty Coffee Association (SCA).

With all our courses (apart from the How to Open a Coffee Shop course, the stand alone latte art course and the intense Fundamentals of Espresso & Barista Basics course), you have to option of sitting a written SCA examination at the end of each course (there is also practical assessment on all courses apart from on the Introduction to Coffee).

Written Exams Go Online From Spring 2019 - read more

If you choose to sit the written exam and you pass you will receive a formal SCA Certificate, this is ACCREDITED. If you don't choose to sit the exam, then the course is NON ACCREDITED.

For each accreditation you will receive points which contribute towards the SCA Coffee Diploma. The number of points for each course is shown on the respective course page. There is an additional fee for accredited courses which are also shown on each course page.

To receive the full SCA Coffee Diploma you need to achieve 100 points.

Within the SCA Coffee Diploma, there are 5 different fields and specialisms within coffee;

You start off with the Introduction to Coffee then choose the specialisms that interest you. You can do them in any order you like.

Students are able to select the fields that are most appropriate to their specific needs and of course the areas that interest them most. You would need to firstly complete the "Introduction to Coffee" as a starting point as this gives you a good grounding on which to start your knowledge of coffee.

There is no timescale in which you must complete these modules, just do them at your own speed, although there must be a 3 month minimum gap between the Intermediate and Professional modules.

Aside from the Introduction to Coffee, each of the other modules consist of 3 levels - Foundation, Intermediate and Professional.

100 points can be achieved as follows;

Introduction to Coffee = 10 points

Barista Skills Foundation = 5 points

Barista Skills Intermediate = 10 points

Barista Skills Professional = 25 points

Sensory Skills Foundation = 5 points

Sensory Skills Intermediate = 10 points

Sensory Skills Professional = 25 points

Brewing Skills Foundation = 5 points

Brewing Skills Intermediate = 10 points

Total points = 105 points

So for example, if you completed the Introduction to Coffee plus the Foundation, Intermediate and Professional levels of Barista Skills and Sensory plus the Foundation and Intermediate levels of any other module, you would have a total of 105 points which means you are awarded the full Diploma. There is no time limit in which to complete additional courses, do them in your own time.

Currently, at Caffè & Co., we offer the following accredited courses;

Introduction to Coffee

Barista Skills (Foundation, Intermediate & Professional)

Sensory Skills (Foundation, Intermediate & Professional)

Brewing Skills (Foundation, Intermediate & Professional)


SCA Coffee Diploma Fastrack


We will be offering other modules in due course.

Written exam papers are available in several languages on request: English, Dutch, Italian, German, Spanish, Czech and Korean.

Who are the SCA?

The Specialty Coffee Association represents thousands of coffee professionals, from producers to baristas all over the world. Built on foundations of openness, inclusivity, and the power of shared knowledge, we act as a unifying force within the Specialty Coffee industry – invested in creating a worldwide circle of like-minded professionals. SCA website




Location: Caffè & Co. Limited | 8 Dane Court | Rainhill | Prescot | L35 4LU - How To Find Us

© 2011-17 Caffè & Co. Limited SCA / SCAE / SCAA Coffee Training